open source file
TAYFUN
ROKETSAN's ballistic missile family.
Scale comparison
Schematic model
The schematic look is deliberate: a photorealistic render would claim an accuracy we do not have. There is no cutaway, no exploded view and no internal component layout, because we have no sourced data on internal geometry. Labels name external sections only and each carries its own confidence level. The model is scaled from the published length and diameter; the proportions of the body and fins are not published figures, and the origin of each is set out in the shape record below. This is not a technical drawing.
The model is scaled from published measurements. The ratios that determine its shape are not published figures; each one states below where it came from. This is a statement of origin, not a confidence level.
0 measured · 0 reading · 10 chosen
- Nose sectionchosen
A nose ratio common on ballistic missiles, tangent to the body. Not measured from any published image.
- End of full-diameter sectionchosen
The last point at which the body keeps full diameter. Where the boattail begins is not in open sources; chosen for a readable silhouette.
- Boattailchosen
Tail diameter as a fraction of body diameter. A slight taper was chosen; a sharp one would claim a shape we do not have.
- Fin countchosen
A four-fin arrangement. The count is not a published statement, but the common layout in this class.
- Fin root chordchosen
Fin root chord as a fraction of total length. Chosen; tail section proportions are not in open sources.
- Fin taperchosen
Tip chord as a fraction of root chord. Chosen; leading-edge sweep derives from the two chords rather than being a separate ratio.
- Fin trailing-edge rakechosen
The fin trailing edge stays perpendicular to the body axis, raking neither forward nor aft toward the tip. Chosen; the leading-edge sweep follows from this decision and the two chords rather than being held as a separate number.
- Fin trailing-edge positionchosen
The fin trailing edge sits at the very tail of the body. Chosen; the tail section detail is not in open sources.
- Fin spanchosen
Fin tip radius as a multiple of body radius. Chosen. Framing reads the same value; a model wider than this would have its fins clipped.
- Fin thicknesschosen
Thickness as a fraction of LOCAL chord. Chosen; a thin plate keeps the schematic language. The previous version expressed it against body radius and gave constant thickness across the span; surfaces now thin with the chord, so the definition follows the chord and the drawn thickness is unchanged.
Technical data and sources
| Field | TAYFUN | TAYFUN BLOK-4 |
|---|---|---|
| Length | 6.5mofficialROKETSAN TAYFUN product card, 2024 catalogue · Sep 11, 2026 · digest cb8bf85670ae… | ~ 10mpressIDEF 2025 presentation, 22-23 Jul 2025 · Sep 11, 2026 |
| Diameter | 610mmofficialROKETSAN TAYFUN product card, 2024 catalogue · Sep 11, 2026 · digest cb8bf85670ae… | ~ 938mmpressIDEF 2025 presentation, 22-23 Jul 2025 · Sep 11, 2026 |
| Mass | 2,300kgofficialROKETSAN TAYFUN product card, 2024 catalogue · Sep 11, 2026 · digest cb8bf85670ae… | ~ 7,200kgpressIDEF 2025 presentation, 22-23 Jul 2025 · Sep 11, 2026 |
| Range different scope | > 280kmofficialROKETSAN TAYFUN product card, 2024 catalogue · Sep 11, 2026 · digest cb8bf85670ae…declared561kmpressDHA news agency bulletin, 18 Oct 2022 · Sep 11, 2026measured in a test · 2022 statement | —no data |
| Circular error probable (CEP) | ≤ 10mofficialROKETSAN TAYFUN product card, 2024 catalogue · Sep 11, 2026 · digest cb8bf85670ae… | —no data |
| Guidance | Coordinate guidance system; resistant to jammingofficialROKETSAN TAYFUN product card, 2024 catalogue · Sep 11, 2026 · digest cb8bf85670ae… | Not disclosedestimate |
| Propellant | Solid propellantofficial | Solid propellantpress |
| Stages | Single stageofficial | Not disclosedestimate |
Programme timeline
First test launchofficial
Conducted from Rize-Artvin Airport.
BLOK-4 announcedpress
The larger-bodied version of the family was announced at IDEF 2025.
Public unveilingofficial
The system was presented to the public for the first time.
Delivery ceremonypress
BLOK-4 was displayed at a ROKETSAN facility opening.
Correction log
source
previous value MoND / ROKETSAN open data; Turkish MoND official statementnew value ROKETSAN TAYFUN product card, 2024 catalogueLength, diameter, mass, range and CEP were attributed to a Turkish MoND statement. The primary document was found: all five figures appear verbatim on ROKETSAN's TAYFUN product card. The attribution now points at the document, with its version and our access date on the record.
Range
previous value > 280 km (official)new value > 280 km (official, declared) and 561 km (press, measured in a test)The distance covered in the 2022 test launch was added to the record. It does not measure the same thing as the declared maximum range, so it is marked as different scope rather than a contradiction. It carries no official confirmation.
Guidance
previous value GNSS / INSnew value Coordinate guidance system; resistant to jammingThe phrase “GNSS / INS” does not appear on the product card; it was an attribution error published under the official badge. The value now uses the card's own wording.
Length
previous value ~ 10 m (TAYFUN BLOK-4, press measurement)new value ~ 10 m (TAYFUN BLOK-4, IDEF 2025 presentation)The figure was recorded as if measured at the trade show. It was a figure announced during the presentation; the scope was corrected from third-party measurement to declared.
Diameter
previous value no recordnew value ~ 938 mm (TAYFUN BLOK-4, press)The figure had been removed because its source was a “press compilation”. It is now tied to a concrete event, the IDEF 2025 presentation. A single publication name and link are still missing, so the confidence stays at press.
Mass
previous value no recordnew value ~ 7,200 kg (TAYFUN BLOK-4, press)Removed for the same reason and restored against the same event. Sources vary between 7,200, 7,300 and “over 7 tonnes”; the “~” band covers that spread.
Range
previous value ≤ 1,000 km (TAYFUN BLOK-4, estimate)new value no recordThis was not the only independent estimate in circulation: assessments reaching up to 3,000 km exist, as do sources that say the figure was not disclosed. Picking one estimate and hiding the rest breaks the rule this file is built on. The field stays empty until all of them can be entered with their sources.
Range
previous value > 280 km (official) and > 500 km (press)new value > 280 km (official)The “> 500 km” figure carried no publication name, date or link; a “press compilation” is the absence of a source, not a source. Removed from the record until a concrete source is found.
Diameter
previous value ~ 938 mm (TAYFUN BLOK-4, press)new value no recordThe source was a “press compilation”: no publication name, date or link. We also have no record that the figure came from the same IDEF 2025 measurement as the length, so the sources were not merged. Removed from the record until a concrete source is found.
Mass
previous value ~ 7,200 kg (TAYFUN BLOK-4, press)new value no recordThe source was a “press compilation”: no publication name, date or link. Mass cannot be measured from a trade show display, so it cannot be assumed to rest on a measurement either. Removed from the record until a concrete source is found.
Range envelope
Drag the reference point to move it. The rings are geodesic projections of published range figures; they do not show a flight profile or operational use.
Compiled from publicly available sources. Not an official publication and not affiliated with the manufacturer.